Things you need to know before going gluten-free

Gluten is a protein naturally found in wheat, and other grains, such as rye and barley. But, it can also sneak into salad dressings,  seasoning, vitamins, and even lip balm, so it's very challenging to eliminate it completely. The main problem with gluten is that it causes an adverse autoimmune reaction in people with Celiac disease and gluten-sensitivity. One in 100 people in the US have Celiac disease or some level of gluten sensitivity.

What can you eat?

Basically, anything that doesn't contain gluten. How will you know? It's very simple - food has gluten if it has wheat, barley, or rye.
The first step to eating gluten-free is identifying and eliminating any gluten-containing products in your current diet. Replace them with gluten-free substitutes you'll enjoy. You can find some ideas on the internet.


What to eat when you're in a rush

What do when you don't have time to cook and only have 10 minutes to eat? Make sure you have these items stocked in your kitchen: eggs with veggies, can of tuna or salmon, gluten-free cold-cuts, almonds and nuts, nut butter, fruit, and cut vegetables, hummus, gluten-free granola bars, etc.


Health benefit of going gluten-free

People with Celiac disease must completely eliminate gluten because consuming even small quantities can trigger their symptoms. However, people who test negative for Celiac still experience gluten sensitivity and may also benefit from going gluten-free. Usually, they experience flu-like feelings, bloating, and other gastrointestinal problems, mental fogginess, and fatigue. The bottom line is that avoiding gluten may help you feel better, even if you don't have Celiac disease.

Gluten-free foods can be processed, too.

Some people are under the impression that all processed foods contain gluten and that no gluten-free foods are refined or processed, but that's not true. Because gluten-free has become very popular, there are more gluten-free products than ever, and many are extremely processed or made with refined versions of gluten-free grains, such as white rice.

Conclusion

Good luck with your diet! Remember - avoid wheat, rye, barley, and food made with those ingredients. If you've already gone gluten-free, what was the hardest part of the transition for you?